My take on Anne Burrell’s Chicken Roulades with Manchengo and Chorizo

This was the first home cooked meal that I was going to cook in our new home in Dumbo. I wanted to make something really special and different from anything else I had made. I was watching the food network…of course my favorite channel and started watching Secrets of a Restaurant Chef with Chef Anne Burrell. 

Not sure how you feel about her, I personally love her. She’s fun to watch on TV, breaks it down for you on her show and lets be real, everything I’ve ever made based off her show has worked out in my favor. She does talk to herself and she’s very enthusiastic but if I could cook like her I would be super excited all the time too, I feel like so would my husband. 
The first meal I made for us in our new home was based off of Anne Burrell’s Chicken Roulades with Manchengo and Chorizo. You can find the original recipe on the food network website. 

I had to make some changes because the small grocery stores that we have in the area didn’t have chorizo (not sure what I’m going to do because I can’t live without having chorizo in my fridge at all times, in a bind I just sautee some chorizo and eggs and ba I have a burrito to curb my hunger), or regular bread crumbs for that matter. 

So for two people I used the following: 

Chicken:

  • 2 big boneless chicken breasts
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 medium yellow sweet onion (my favorite onion)
  • kosher salt
  • pinch of crushed red pepper
  • 1 clove of garlic (I minced mine and put it in because we love garlic, she took it out)
  • 2 links of spicy italian sausage
  • 1/2 of crushed up panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup of shredded manchango cheese
  • 1/2 bunch of fresh parsley
  • 1 egg
  • (she put almonds but we’re allergic to those so we left them out…feel free to add them back in)

Breading:

  • Panko crumbs
  • 2 eggs (with a little water beat in them)
  • all purpose white flower

Sauce: 

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 Shallot
  • 1/4 cup of sherry
  • 2 cups of chicken stock 
  • 2 tablespoons of butter

Flatten the chicken breast until you get a nice thing big chicken breast. Turn your oven on to 350. 

In a pan I sauteed the onions, once they were soft I added in the minced garlic and about a minute later I added the sausage that I had taken out of the casing. I cooked it all together until the sausage was done. Let it cool for a few minutes then transfer it to a bowl and add the egg, breadcrumbs and cheese. 

Take your flattened chicken breasts and add the mixture, roll it into a log and secure it close with a toothpick. I then salted the outside of the chicken prior to breading it. 

Take the log and dip it in the flour, then egg/water mixture followed by the panko.

Put on a plate, cover with plastic and let sit in the fridge for an hour or so. 

I deviated from Chef Burrell’s recipe by cooking it in vegetable oil instead of olive oil…because well I just prefer frying in vegetable oil. Cook them until they are nice and golden brown on all sides. The put it in the oven for 8-10 mins. 

While the chicken is in the oven I made the sauce. Cook your shallots in olive oil until nice and soft. add the sherry and let cook down for a bit. Add the chicken stock, one cup at a time and let boil and reduce then repeat with the second cup. Add butter and cook down again. Add salt to taste. 

I served this with Chef Burrell’s sauteed Kale recipe and I didn’t deviate. Sauteed kale in olive oil with garlic and covered until it wilted down. 

Placed the sauteed kale on the plate then placed my sliced chicken roulade over the kale. 

This turned out pretty good for me. I mean I got some rave reviews from my food taster and its now going into the mix of meals to bring back. It also took me about 35 mins of actual cooking and 1 hour of wait time so the meal gets done fairly quickly. 

Buen Provecho! 

Leave a Reply

