Carne Asada and Pollo Burritos

Sounds pretty simple right. Well that’s because it is. 

A long time ago as a brand new college graduate I quickly realized that I could not live off of fast food so I needed to get on with the cooking – something that I had never really done for myself because for everyone who knows me knows that my papa can cook. So one of the first things I ever asked him to teach me to make was his carne asada. Over the years I have played with it and changed his recipe but its still pretty simple.

Well tonight I wanted to make my version of comfort food and carne asada and pollo burritos is my go to meal. Its easy, tasty and filling and I always have left overs which means more yummy food with less cooking! 

First off the carne asada. I like mine with skirt steak, but some people use chuck or flank. When you’re picking your meat look for good marbling because fat is where its at. Just kidding but you want a little fat on your meat to give it an even better flavor. I slice it to be about 1/4 to 1/3 of an inch thick. Any thicker and you run the risk of it being tough.

Steak: 

  • Limes – depends how juicy but 1 lime for every 1/2 pound of meat
  • Goya Adobo with pepper seasoning
  • McCormick Meat Tenderizer with seasoning
  • 1.5 lbs of skirt steak

I told you it was simple! 

You place the cut steak into a glass bowl, cover each side with both seasonings and lime juice until all of the meat is fully seasoned. Mix it, cover it and put it in the fridge for your desired marinating time. You can do this for 10 mins to a few hours before hand – I wouldn’t go over 8 hours with it. I usually marinate for about an hour or so (mostly because I forget to do it ahead of time). 

Cooking: 

This is also simple. I use a griddle because I don’t have an actual grill. You can cook it on a grill, sauté pan, cast iron skillet, pretty much whatever you have. Cook it until medium unless you prefer different. This meat is pretty versatile. This is the basic recipe. 

Chicken: 

  • Lemon Pepper seasoning
  • Garlic Salt seasoning 
  • 2 hearty chicken boneless breasts
  • That’s it! 

Cut the breasts to half their width. In a glass bowl cover both sides of the chicken with both seasonings. Mix it around to make sure all of the chicken is coated in both seasonings. Cover and put in the fridge. Again anywhere from 10 mins to a few hours. 

Cooking: 

Same as the steak. You can cook it on pretty much anything, this time I used a griddle (half for the steak and half for the chicken). 

I served this with white rice from the rice cooker, roasted salsa, pico de gallo and homemade chips. Yep. I’m a happy stuffed girl! 

Buen Provecho! 


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

