Chicken Parm and S’mores Pie

Yum, Yum, Yum…well I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I enjoyed making it. I was craving something hearty and italiany. I say “Italiany” because I can’t claim this to be authentic but it is in the spirit of what I think Chicken Parm should be. 

Chicken Parm: 

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1 cup of panko crumbs
  • 1/2 cup of grated parmesan, asiago, romano cheese
  • 1/2 palmful of dried parsley
  • 2 eggs beaten with a tbsp of water
  • 2 tsp of Salt
  • 1 tsp of Pepper

Cooking: Heat oven to 450 degrees F. You’ll need three bowls to make a small assembly line. One for your breading, one for your flour and one for your egg wash. In one bowl mix the panko crumbs, cheese, parsley, 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. In another beat the eggs and the water and in the third just put in the flour and 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. 

Take each chicken breast, put it in a plastic zip lock bag and pound it until its half its width. After that dredge both sides of the chicken in the seasoned flour, dip in the egg wash, coating completely and then dredge in the bread crumb mixture. Place on a plate, cover in plastic wrap and put in the fridge for 30 mins. Heat non-stick skillet with about 1/2 inch of vegetable oil. Cook each side of the chicken breast until golden brown crust then place in oven for 8-12 mins. 

  
Sauce:

  • 1 jar of roasted garlic marinara sauce (I know this is cheating but I was low on time so this was my alternative, don’t judge)
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • palmful of dried basil
  • 1/2 palmful of dried marjoram
  • salt
  • pepper

Cooking: sautee onions in olive oil until just starting to get transluscent then add garlic until the garlic is golden brown and releasing their fragrance. Add sauce, basil, marjoram and salt and pepper (to taste). (I added about 1/4 of a cup of water from the sauce jar because I didn’t have wine). let simmer while you cook the chicken breasts.

Spaghetti: Follow the instructions on the box. Cooks in about 8-10 mins in boiling salted water. 

That was the main course! 

Now onto my favorite part of any meal…dessert! I love dessert, no matter how full I get I can always go for somehting sweet after. I try to not always do it b/c that can’t be good for you but I always want to. Enough food guilt! 

SO I made my version of a mini s’mores pie. I found these little nabisco graham cracker crusts while shopping and had seen this food blog about tons of ways to eat marshmallows so it was on my mind. 

S’mores: 

  • Nabisco mini-graham cracker crusts
  • 1 tbsp of butter
  • milk chocolate chips
  • MARSHMALLOWS! 

Cooking: Brush the crusts with a little melted butter. Brown the crust in a 375 degrees F oven for about 3 mins. Don’t do the 5 like the box says they get very hard. Turn on broiler on high. Once browned add milk chocolate chips (whatever amount you want) and place about 3 marshmallows on top. place under broiler until you see the marshmallows getting nice and brown…brown them as long as you like. some people like burned marshmallows, some like just a touch of heat. 

  
Buen Provecho! 

Leave a Reply

