4th of July Party

Note: I’m going to start off by apologizing for the lack of pictures. I had every intention to show the process but I got caught up in hosting that by the time I remembered to get a plate, taking photos of it was not on my mind. But I did get a few of them.

Now 4th of July. I love it. For many reasons, it’s my mom’s birthday, our nation’s independence day and the day 3 years ago that we got our dog. So there is a lot to celebrate. 

We also try to host a party each year which means trying to find fun things to eat. In a small apartment with lots of people the last thing you want to do is cook complicated food. So I try to keep it easy with small bites of food that do not take long to prepare. So here’s my 4th of July get together menu.

Menu: 

  • Guac and chips (this is a staple in this house, I think if I didn’t make it my husband would be very sad)
  • Beef sliders
  • Plantain chip with flank steak and chimichurri sauce

Guac and Chips: Check out the Memorial Day post.

Beef Sliders:

  • 3 lbs Ground beef – I like a 90-10 for sliders that I will be cooking inside. If I’m making burgers on a grill I’ll use an 85-15.
  • McCormicks Hamburger seasoning
  • Worchestire Sauce (a few splashes)
  • salt and pepper
  • Hawaiian King Rolls

Cooking: Mix all ingredients in a big bowl. Make little balls about the size of your palm. You don’t want to make them too fat or they take longer to cook and you want to make them a little larger than the bun because they will shrink while they cook. Heat a griddle to medium and cook each slider for 3-4 mins per side. Once they are cooked. Clean the griddle and toast your Kings Hawaiian rolls on both sides.

Assemble with any condiments you like, such as tomatoes. lettuce. onions. pickles, cheese … the possoibilites are endless!

Plaintain chips with flank steak and chimichurri sauce

 

  • 4 ripe plantains, sliced in 1/4 in slices
  • 2 cups of vegetable oil 
  • 1 1/2 lbs of flank steak
  • Goya Adobo with pepper seasoning
  • McCormick Meat Tenderizer with seasoning
  • Lime Juice from 2 fresh limes
  • 1 bunch of flat leaf parsley, cut off stems
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, cut off stems
  • 1 lime
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • salt to taste

Steak: A few hours ahead of time cover your steak first with the lime juice then each of the seasonings. As a trick I cut the meat into large chunks to make it fit in my bowl. Cover with plastic and keep into the refrigerator until cooking time. Heat up a skillet to medium heat. Cook steaks for 5-7 mins each side. Let the steak rest a few minutes then cut it up into smallish cubes so that it is smaller than your plantain chips. 

Chimichurri Sauce: In a food processor or blender add cilantro, parsley, garlic, 1/4 cup of olive oil, and the juice of one line. Blend until nice and smooth. You need to eyeball the olive oil because you don’t want it to watery. 

Plantain Chips: Heat oil to 350. Place sliced plantain chips in for about 3 mins then flip them. Cook for another 3 mins then place them on a paper towel to drain. 

  
Assembly is easy. Plantain chip, steak then chimichurri sauce. You can do it for everyone or just tell them how.

Leave a Reply

