Ropa Vieja inspired Chicken!

I LOVE…I mean LOVE Ropa Vieja…it was one of the first things I ever ate when I visited Miami for the very first time. I mean shredded beef, garlic, tomatoes, peppers… deliciousness on a plate with rice and beans…what is not to love. And you know the amazing side order of plantains…my mouth is watering and I want to fly down to Miami right now to go get some! But back to this recipe…I usually order my delicious cuban fix from Sophie’s Cuisine here in NYC and it’s pretty amaze and reminds me of that very first bite a few years ago.

So when I was craving this deliciousness the other day and as much as I wanted to order it I knew I had some chicken breast in my fridge that I needed to use soon or else it would go bad…

Chicken: 

IMG_8292
I’m getting low on my rice…
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1 tsp of onion powder
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp of chili powder
  • 1 tsp of paprika
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp of pepper
  • 1 pkg of sazon (about 2 tsps)
  • 1/2 red and yellow bell peppers (thinly sliced)
  • 1/4 green bell pepper (thinly sliced)
  • 1 small roma tomato diced
  • 1/4 spanish onion
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1/2 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1/3 cup of chicken stock
81dh9KkdvVL._SX425_
I forgot to add this to the ingredients picture, comes in individual use packages.

Cooking: Pat the chicken dry and then pound chicken until it is all the same thickness. Mix all the spices in a small bowl and divide evenly between both chicken breasts, ensuring both sides are covered.

IMG_8293

Over a medium high skillet add the olive oil and cook the chicken for about 5 mins on each side ensuring it gets nice and brown.

IMG_8294

Remove, let cool and shred. If the chicken isn’t all the way done its ok because you’re going to be adding it back to the pan. Add the sliced veggies and begin sauteing until the veggies begin to soften.

IMG_8295

Add the shredded chicken.

IMG_8296

Add the diced tomato,  1/3 cup of chicken stock, 1 pkg of sazon, 1/2 tsp of salt and 2 garlic cloves (use kosher salt and the back of your knife to turn it into a paste).

IMG_8297

Cover and simmer for 15 mins.

Mmmm….

Beans: 

  • 1 can of black beans (drained and rinsed)
  • 1 tsp of bacon fat
  • 1/2 diced green pepper
  • 1/4 diced spanish onion
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/4 tsp of cumin
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp of chili powder
  • 1 pkg of sazon

Cooking: Add bacon fat to a medium sauce pan at medium/low heat. Add onions and pepper and sweat them out (cook them until you can smell them but aren’t getting brown). Add beans, water and spices. Stir, cover and simmer for 20 mins.

White Rice: 

  • 2 cups of white rice (rinsed)
  • 3 cups of water
  • 3 garlic cloves (smashed)
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 2 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil

Cooking: Add all ingredients to a rice cooker…hit button…continue doing everything else because this takes care of itself 🙂

Serve equal portions of beans, rice and chicken…Enjoy!

IMG_8298

Buen Provecho! 

 

Leave a Reply

